A United Voice for Texas Psychiatry

The Federation of Texas Psychiatry was established in 2004 with the following purposes:

A. to promote the common professional interests of psychiatrists by encouraging their participation as members of state professional psychiatric associations, including the Texas Society of Psychiatric Physicians and the Texas Academy of Psychiatry and state professional subspecialty psychiatric associations including organizations for Child and Adolescent Psychiatry, Addiction Psychiatry, Geriatric Psychiatry and Forensic Psychiatry;

B. to facilitate the coordination of and work in concert with state professional psychiatric associations and state professional subspecialty psychiatric associations, to unify programs that advance public and professional education and advocacy for psychiatry and persons with psychiatric illnesses;

C. to provide centralized services to state professional psychiatric associations and state professional subspecialty psychiatric associations;

D. to make psychiatric knowledge available to other practitioners of medicine, to scientists, and to the public; and,

E. to promote the best interests of patients and those actually or potentially making use of mental health services.



The Federation currently represents 56,423 physicians and is governed by a Delegate Assembly composed of representatives from each member organization. Currently, the representatives to the Delegate Assembly include the following:



Category Texas Society of Psychiatric Physicians Texas Academy of Psychiatry Texas Society of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry
Officer- President Timothy Wolff, MD Daryl K. Knox, MD Melissa DeFilippis, MD
Officer- Pres-Elect Michael Arambula, MD Danial Pearson, III, MD Philip Balfanz, MD
Officer- Sec/Treas Karen Dineen Wagner, MD, PhD Tushar Desai, MD Debra Atkisson, MD
Past President Mark Jacobs, MD Martha Leatherman, MD Susan Wynne, MD
Past President Daryl K. Knox, MD J. Clay Sawyer, MD Nakia Scott, MD
Past President Richard L. Noel, MD R. Sanford Kiser, MD Brigitte Y. Bailey, MD
At-Large A. David Axelrad, MD Gary L. Etter, MD Benigno J. Fernandez, MD
At-large R. Andrew Harper, MD Tushar Desai, MD Rene L. Olvera, MD
At-Large Melissa Eshelman, MD Conway McDanald, MD Steven R. Pliszka, MD


Texas Foundation for
Psychiatric Education and Research
Texas Medical Association Texas Osteopathic Medical Association
J. Clay Sawyer, MD Michael J Darrouzet Brent Sanderlin, DO, FACOFP



Chairman J. Clay Sawyer, MD
Vice Chairman for Education Michael Arambula, MD
Vice Chairman for Public Policy Debra Atkisson, MD
Secretary-Treasurer Lynda Parker, MD
Delegate Leslie H. Secrest, MD
Delegate Daniel Pearson, III, MD