Texas Society of Child & Adolescent Psychiatry

About the Texas Society of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry (TSCAP)

Founded in October 1966 and incorporated in 1967, the Texas Society of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry (TSCAP) operates as a Regional Organization of The American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry (AACAP). As a nonprofit organization dedicated to advancing the field of child and adolescent psychiatry, TSCAP supports over 500 trained and licensed psychiatric physicians (MDs and DOs) in their commitment to the mental health care of young people.

Governance: TSCAP is governed by an Executive Committee, democratically elected by its members, ensuring that the organization remains focused on its mission and responsive to the needs of both its members and the communities they serve.

Objectives: TSCAP is committed to fostering a dynamic and supportive professional community with the following objectives:

  • Promoting Knowledge: Providing forums for discussing all aspects of normal and pathological growth and development in children and adolescents.
  • Encouraging Exchange: Facilitating the exchange of ideas relative to the resources available and needed within Texas and the surrounding region.
  • Advancing Psychiatry: Offering a platform for the continued advancement of child and adolescent psychiatry.
  • Supporting Allied Professions: Promoting professions related to child and adolescent psychiatry that address the emotional and psychological needs of young individuals.
  • Advocacy and Communication: Serving as a robust advocate for maintaining and establishing practices that enhance the mental health of children and adolescents, and facilitating communication with similar organizations worldwide.

Through these efforts, TSCAP enhances the capabilities of its members and contributes significantly to the well-being of children and adolescents dealing with mental health issues.

LEADERSHIP 2022-2023


President Laura Stone, MD (2023-24)
President-Elect Andrew Diederich, MD (2023-24)
Secretary/Treasurer Joseph Shotwell, MD (2023-24)
Immediate Past President Debra Atkisson, MD (2023-24)



James Norcross, MD (2021-24) Catherine Karni, MD (2022-25)
Mrudula Rao, MD (2022-25)  



Nakia Scott, MD (2020-23) Lisa Falls, MD (2021-24)
Jessica Sandoval, MD (2021-24) Joseph Shotwell, MD (2021-24)
Mohsin Khan, MD (2021-24) Mili Khandheria, MD (2021-24)
Sarah Wakefield, MD (2021-24) Sabrina Browne, MD (2022-25)
Alcides Amador, MD (2023-2026) Robin Mallet, MD (2023-2026)
Sarah Martin, MD (2023-2026)  



Melissa DeFilippis, MD (2021-24)  



The Texas Society of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry (TSCAP) is the regional organization of the American Association of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry (AACAP) and members must be active in both organizations. Visit the AACAP website to begin the application process.

Once you are approved by AACAP, TSCAP will contact you to remit your regional organization dues according to your member class:

  • General Member ($175)
  • Distinguished Fellow ($175)
  • Fellow ($175)
  • General Residents ($0)
  • Trainees ($0)
  • Medical Students ($0)


July 19-21 at Kalahari Resort in Round Rock, TX
Click here for conference information and to Register



To meet our objectives of promoting information and advocacy as they pertain to child and adolescent psychiatry in Texas, we are seeking TSCAP members to volunteer their time to one or more of our committees. 

Committee terms are for one year and must be approved by the current TSCAP President.
PROGRAM COMMITTEE: To prepare programs for the meetings of the society and for any other projects undertaken by the Society. Notably, this includes development of the Scientific Program for the Texas Society of Child & Adolescent Psychiatry’s Annual Meeting in accordance with the Essentials as outlined in the Texas Medical Association’s CME Guidelines.

CONSTITUTION & BYLAWS: To prepare, as necessary, changes in the Constitution and Bylaws as mandated by vote within the Society, or to review the Constitution and Bylaws and submit recommendations for possible improvement of the current document.

GOVERNMENT AFFAIRS: To monitor present and proposed legislation and regulation at all government levels that could affect services to child and adolescent psychiatric patients; to attempt to ensure such legislation is in alignment with the principles of scientific care; to propose needed legislation or regulation, in liaison with other interested groups when appropriate, that would benefit psychiatric patients and the psychiatric profession in its efforts to treat patients effectively; to monitor legal developments affecting patients and members; and, to collaborate with the TSCAP public policy consultant for lobbying efforts. Through the GA Committee, the unified voice of TSCAP is communicated to the TSCAP Executive Committee and our public policy consultant.

DISASTER AND TRAUMA: To monitor and inform the TSCAP membership on disaster and trauma issues; to collaborate with committees of TSCAP about similar or corresponding efforts; and to recommend positions to the TSCAP Executive Committee regarding research, intervention and advocacy pertaining to issues of disaster and trauma with children and adolescents.

Click here to submit your TSCAP Committee Preferences.

For additional information, please contact:

Dieter Burckhardt, Executive Director
401 West 15th Street, Suite 675
Austin, Texas 78701
Phone: (512) 478-0605
Fax: (512) 478-5223
E-mail: TSCAP@txpsych.org